I launched a marketing newsletter

Kayla Medica
9 min readMar 17, 2021

Mehdeeka is a SaaS/B2B focused weekly marketing newsletter, aimed at small teams or solo marketers.

Around October-ish of 2020 I launched Mehdeeka, started out of frustration that finding actionable marketing advice was too difficult, or not relevant enough. Lots of marketing publications focus on huge international brands, which as a local marketer with no budget and no team, I cannot replicate or implement the learnings from that brand.

So I thought I’d go search for the advice myself, and share it as I went. I had four goals in mind;

  1. Mehdeeka would focus on local Australian marketers and brands operating here
  2. As much as possible, these marketers would be working mostly in isolation or with a very small team
  3. The topics would be limited to what is of interest to B2B, SaaS, and startup marketers (i.e. no focus on ecommerce or consumer goods)
  4. The newsletter would be short as time is precious, and you would be able to learn at least one thing that you could implement immediately after reading

I am quite proud of what I’ve done with it, and I’ve met a lot of new people through conducting the interviews. I’m super happy with the subscribers growing, and seeing the people who have participated in interviews becoming very active subscribers and supporters!

One of the structures I take with the newsletter is picking a single topic and dissecting it over three weeks in a sort of…

--

--

Kayla Medica

I use Medium to post my older writing portfolio and creative side projects. See Mehdeeka.substack.com for my current professional writing!